The Mother Theresa Post Graduate and Research Institute of Health Sciences was established by the Government of Puducherry to develop the requirements of health care personnel by providing health care educational courses for the Union Territory of Puducherry. The Institution was started in September, 1991 as ‘Pondicherry Centre for Paramedical Education’ at the Government General Hospital, Puducherry with the four Diploma courses of Medical Laboratory Technology (DMLT), Certified Radiological Assistants (DCRA), Multipurpose Health Worker-Male (DMPHW-M) and Multipurpose Health Worker-Female (DMPHW-F). In the subsequent academic year the two degree courses of Bachelor of Nursing (B.Sc.Nursing) and Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPT) were started along with two diploma courses of Pharmacy (D.Pharm) and Paramedical Opthalmic Assistant (DPOA). The diploma courses of D.Pharm. and D.M.L.T were upgraded as degree courses from the academic year 2001-02.

   The degree courses of B.Sc.(Nursing), B.P.T., B.Sc(MLT) and B.Pharm. are affiliated to Pondicherry University and diploma courses of DCRA, DMPHW-F and DMLT are affiliated to Board of Medical Education, Government of Puducherry. The B.Pharm. Course is recognized by the Pharmacy Council of India and All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). The B.Sc. (Nursing) and DMPHW-F courses are recognized by the Nursing Council.

   All the courses are being conducted in the new MTPG & RIHS campus at Indira Nagar, Gorimedu from February, 2006.

   On 6th May, 1999 the Institute was registered as “Mother Theresa Institute of Health Sciences (Pondicherry) Society, Pondicherry” and has been functioning as autonomous institute, funded by the Government of Puducherry. The Government of Puducherry has constituted the General Body and the Governing Body of the Institute for efficient management of the institute vide G.O.Ms.No.32/Health dt. 30.4.1999. Now the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Puducherry is the is the Chairman and the Chief Secretary to Govt. of Puducherry is the Vice-Chairman of the Governing and General Body of the Institute


   The teaching faculties are appointed on All India basis, on selection by the Staff Selection Committee headed by the Chairman/Chief Secretary to Government of Puducherry. The staff structure of the institute is as per the norms of recognising Councils and as approved by the Governing Body. The Dean of the Institute is the Chief Academician, Executive Officer and Member Secretary of the Board of Governors.





N. RANGASAMY                        











Greetings and best wishes !

             Theiva Pulavar Thiruvalluvar said

             “கேடில் விழுச்செல்வங் கல்வி ஒருவற்கு

             மாடல்ல மற்ற யவை”

 meaning – One’s learning alone is one’s indestructible and outstanding wealth, nothing else possesses this special value.   Hence, education and learning are very essential.  Human capital and resources of the youth are the most significant strength and key to global growth.  No country can prosper without education.  Education only has phenomenal powers to bring substantial benefits to individuals and the humanity.

             Mother Theresa Postgraduate and Research Institute of Health Sciences,, established 22 years back in the year 1991 dedicates itself to transforming students into highly talented, committed, service oriented and dedicated health care professionals and strives for its endeavour to meet the intellectual, social and academic requirements of every student through quality practical and theoretical teachings.  There are more than 80 highly qualified, committed teaching faculty members in this Institute to teach and train students in 16 different Courses and guide them in Research activities also.

             I request the students to understand the significance of learning and use their potential to optimum levels and dedicate themselves to develop knowledge, acquire leadership qualities, patriotism, integrity and make themselves true healthcare professionals, and become service oriented and worthy citizens.

             The introduction of Pharmacy courses in Ayurveda, Siddha & Homeopathy from the Academic year 2013-14, is another milestone in the history of the Institute, aimed at promoting our Indigenous Systems of Medicine and Homeopathy, as envisaged by AYUSH, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare,  New Delhi.

             I wholeheartedly wish all the best for the students who have joined the MTPG&RIHS and welcome them to learn with good sense of involvement, leading to the doors of success and serve the humanity through Health care services.


            Wishing you all good success.

                         Yours truly,

                      (N. RANGASAMY)


Dr. R.Murali


Registrar (Academic)
Prof. Dr.V. Gopal
Principal / Principals (i/c) / Course in-charge
College of Pharmacy : Prof. Dr. V.Gopal
College of Nursing : Prof. Dr.J. Rukumani
College of Physiotherapy : Prof. Supriya K Vinod
College of Medical Laboratory Technology : Thiru. P. Thirumurugan @ Murali
School of Nursing : Tmt. E. Premila
School of Radiological Assistance : Thiru. R. Kannan
Regional In-charge
DMPHW & GNM : Tmt. E. Premila
DMLT : Thiru. P. Thirumurugan @ Murali
PNO of various Regions  
  Karaikal : Tmt. A. Jalajarani
  Mahe : Tmt. R. Gengammal
  Yanam : Tmt. S. Sridevy
Central Library and Information Centre
Thiru. C. Kumaravel
National Service Scheme (NSS)
Thiru. G. Prakash Yoganandam, NSS Programme Officer
Society of Midwives India (SOMI)
Tmt. E. Premila, State Secretary, Puducherry
Red Ribbon Club
Thiru. C.P. Prince, Coordinator
Youth Red Cross
Thiru. M. Haribabu, Coordinator
Sports incharge
Thiru. P. Thirumurugan @ Murali


B.Sc. (Nursing)  |   B. Pharm  |   B.P.T  |   B.Sc. (MLT)  |  DMPHW  |  DCRA   |  Karaikal   |  Mahe   |  Yanam   |  Right to Information Act   |  Home